1. Tax collection

Provincial Councils that have their own tax system collect the taxes, particularly direct income tax (IRPF) and Corporation Tax, and indirect ones such as VAT and excise duty on tobacco or on hydrocarbons.

2. How is it distributed?

The tax collection is distributed among the public administrations with authority in this area in the Autonomous Community of the Basque Country. The part allocated to the Spanish Central Government is known as the Cupo or quota, that to the Basque Government as Aportaciones or contributions, with the rest being distributed among the Provincial Councils and their local entities.

3. On what is it used?

The Basque Government uses the amounts of the Provincial Council contributions, along with other funding sources such as public debt, to provide the public services within its competence.

Pick a year

Data sources


  • Revenues and expenditures refer exclusively to the Basque Government administration: they don't include autonomous bodies, nor public companies or foundations.
  • Cifras expresadas en € constantes, base 2016=100. El ajuste de la inflación se realiza a 31 de diciembre de 2017.
  • Budget execution figures refer to "obligaciones reconocidas" (expense side) and "derechos reconocidos" (income), i.e. they are accounting terms, not cash flows. They are available at the programme level.